Posts tagged ‘databases’

Problems with Proquest

NHS staff are currently unable to log in to Proquest.  This seems to be related to Proquest’s recent Athens upgrade. The problem has been logged but we currently do not know when it will be resolved.  We will update you when we have more details.  If you have any questions regarding accessing journals through Proquest please contact Karen John-Pierre, (kjohn@sgul.ac.uk) for help.

March 20, 2013 at 5:41 pm Leave a comment

NHS Evidence Healthcare databases maintenance alert

The Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) area will not be available between the hours of 5pm and 10pm on Monday 3 December due to essential maintenance work being carried out. NHS Evidence wish to apologise for any inconvenience during this period.

November 27, 2012 at 3:30 pm Leave a comment

What’s new with Trip

Trip’s new database site is now live.  It new includes a new look, new features and some powerful new tools (including a PICO search interface).

Try out the new site at http://www.tripdatabase.com

Or watch a screencast highlighting new features at

Screenr – jrbtrip: What’s new with Trip.

October 31, 2012 at 9:35 am Leave a comment

Problem with the save function on NHS Databases

There is currently a problem with the NHS Databases’ save function.

When trying to save a set of search results as a document the databases crash and will no longer work.

The problem has been reported and a fix is being worked on.

In the meantime, to work around this issue, please proceed as follows:

  1. Email your search results to yourself
  2. Open the document from your email
  3. Save the document to your computer

March 30, 2012 at 8:51 am Leave a comment

UpToDate trial now closed

St. George’s extended trial to the UpToDate clinical topic review database has now closed, and the service no longer available on either the Trust or University networks.

We are awaiting the results of an evaluation of the service from UpToDate. In the meantime, if you have any comments about UpToDate, please contact
Karen John-Pierrre on kjohn@sgul.ac.uk.

October 3, 2008 at 9:09 am Leave a comment

Database Discovery: BMJ Clinical Evidence

This is the first in a series of posts called ‘Database Discovery’ where we highlight lesser known healthcare databases. To kick off with we’ll look at BMJ Clinical Evidence.

What is it and how can it help me?

Clinical Evidence, produced by the BMJ Publishing Group provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. In other words, it contains a compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions, giving you rapid access to the bottom line data on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.

What’s the topic coverage?

Clinical Evidence aims to cover common or important clinical conditions seen in primary and hospital care. To decide which conditions to cover, its producers review national data on consultation rates, morbidity, and mortality, and take advice from generalist clinicians and patient groups. To date over 250 conditions have been appraised, encompassing over 3,000 interventions.

How do I access it?
Access is Athens password protected via 3 routes:

1.Direct at http://www.clinicalevidence.com (Click on Logon in the top-right hand corner)

2.Click on the link to Clinical Evidence on the Library’s EBH databases page

3.Login to My Athens with your Athens password and select Clinical Evidence from the Other resources tab

On-site access is also available in the Library without using a password.

How can I search Clinical Evidence?
The database can be browsed or searched. To browse click on ‘Conditions’ in the horizontal menu bar to see a list of broad subjects, beneath which lie relevant reviews. To search, enter your condition or intervention in the search box on the top-right hand corner: more than one term will be automatically joined together with AND and you can search for a phrase by enclosing it in “speech marks”.

How can I get more help?
Try this User Guide or contact the library on library@sgul.ac.uk

September 15, 2008 at 3:44 pm 2 comments


Contact Us

St. George's Library 1st Floor Hunter Wing St. George's, University of London Cranmer Terrace SW17 ORE Tel: 020 8725 5433 Email: kjohn@sgul.ac.uk

RSS National Electronic Library for Medicines

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Feed on Posts

Twitter Updates